Dental assistants traveled as far away as Antioch to attend the Infection Control course taught by Leslie Canham, RDA at the San Mateo County ROP Classroom. Each of the dental assistants took away tips, tools, techniques to help them improve Infection Control and Office safety.
"I didn't realize that our office was not wrapping instruments correctly until I attended this class," said one of the more experienced dental assistants.
All California dentists must provide training for their unlicensed dental assistants who were hired after January 1, 2010. The training includes an 8 hour Infection Control course, Dental Practice Act, and basic life support. Each unlicensed dental assistant must complete the training within one year. Read More
A current CPR card is a requirement for Dental License renewal. Did you know that in California you can apply up to four hours of the time spent in a CPR class toward your dental license renewal? Every two years dental licenses must be renewed. Dentists are required to accumulate 50 hours of continuing education. Dental Hygienists, Registered Dental Assistants, and holders of the dental sedation or orthodontic assistant permits must accumulate 25 hours. Registered Dental Hygienists in Alternative Practice must accumulate 35 hours.
You can get a CPR card from a number of different providers, but remember the CPR course must be live (online courses are not accepted) and the training must be either American Heart Association or Red Cross approved courses.
Dental Board of California decided that unlicensed dental assistants hired after January 1, 2010 must take the 8-hour Infection Control Course, Dental Practice Act course and maintain a current CPR certificate.
The California Dental Board has decided to suspend the practical examination for Register Dental Assistants because RDA's "are under the full authority of the dentist when providing services and dentists are ultimately responsible to ensure the quality of that care, [so] RDAs pose a low risk for public harm." Successfully passing the written exam on clinical, law, and ethics will now be the final requirement to acquire a valid RDA license. All other educational requirements remain the same.
Click HERE to see the announcement from CDA. To find out how to become a Registered Dental Assistant in California.